The Oscillation began in London in 2006 as one of several musical pseudonyms for Demian Castellanos. The first single “New Way To Feel” was released in January 2006 on Bee And Smoke records as a 7″ single and was picked as single of the week by Rough Trade. This incarnation of The Oscillation was intended as an outlet for more rockier ventures alongside other projects going in different directions. An e.p on Static Caravan surfaced, under the name of Mesma, while on J.Saul Kane’s DC Recordings, yet another project began as The Orichalc Phase. “Respond In Silence” was the first e.p, followed by “Violations” e.p in April 2007 with help on the mixing desk from Death In Vegas’ Tim Holmes at their studio, The Contino Rooms. The Orichalc Phase now became the main focus, incorporating influences from punk-funk disco, krautrock and psychedelia with danceable rhythms, repetitive angular avant guitar noises inspired by Loop, and layers of analogue synthesizers.

The debut album on DC Recordings, “Out Of Phase” was released in October 2007 to universally good reviews and the name was confusingly changed to The Oscillation for it’s release in the light of nobody being able to remember, spell or pronounce The Orichalc Phase.

A live band was formed to coincide with the record – with Tom Relleen on bass guitar, Mark Thomas on keys and Jon Abbey on drums, along with Julian Hand providing a retina destroying light show using projectors, slides and oil paints. The band continued playing numerous shows, refining their live sound and building a reputation for inventive re-interpretation of the recorded songs along the way, supporting the likes of Sliver Apples, Beak, Zombie Zombie, Disappears, Wooden Shjps, Dead Skeletons and Deerhunter. Early 2009 saw a departure from DC Recordings.

After a period of flux, a new e.p “Future Echo” was released in early 2010 on “All Time Low Productions”. “Future Echo” brought together some new influences, tribal krautrock rhythms, pulsating synth bass, white noise guitar feedback and pure drone. The 2nd album “Veils” came out in early 2011, branching further out into more complex song-writing and liquid psyche instrumental passages. This was followed by the “Fall” e.p and an exclusive single for Record Day featuring the psyche-rock of “No Place To Go” and the opiate pop of “Waste The Day”. Around this time the live band were joined by Valentina Magaletti on drums and Chris Wackrow on keys/2nd guitar. Valentina became the mainstay on drums, both live and in the studio for the 3rd album “From Tomorrow”, recorded in 2012-13. This album takes another step into new directions, both heavier and spacier, a bona-fide trip into new realms and was a partnered release between All Time Low and Hands In The Dark.

2015 saw the release of “Beyond The Mirror” (Rare and Unreleased Tracks), a compilation of hard to find singles, b-sides and some previously unreleased material that failed to find a true home. The latest album, “Monographic”, released in March 2016, reveals a disillusioned cosmic rant into the void, incorporating a more aggressive psyche-punk sound into the existing melancholic trip of the past. After extensive European touring The Oscillation is gestating a new album in the bunker. In the meantime “Almost See” is out on Fuzz Club as a split single alongside the mighty 10000 Russos from Portugal. Watch this space for future musical explorations..